Ph (02) 8899 3333

Who we are


Animal Welfare League NSW (AWL NSW) is a registered charity that has been operating for 60 years. We provide expert care to surrendered, neglected and abandoned companion animal across New South Wales.

Our vision is that all companion animals in NSW have a safe and loving home. We strive for this through our work in rehoming, education and discount desexing programs. We also send out our inspectors who are authorised to investigate allegations of animal cruelty.

As part of our Getting to Zero philosophy (G2Z) we are also committed to achieving zero euthanasia of healthy and treatable cats and dogs.

Our charity is funded by generous animal-lovers and kind volunteers help keep our doors open. There are many ways people can get involved with us including by donating, fundraising or volunteering.

We have one shelter which is open 7 days a week if you would like to adopt an animal from us, or if you live in a regional area you can contact your closest branch (only some branches offer rehoming services).

Read more about what we do here.


Annual Report

The 2016 Annual Report for Animal Welfare League NSW Demonstrates the incredible efforts of our volunteers, members and staff who enhance the lives of animals every day – with over 11,500 animals cared for and 8,676 animals desexed in the past year.


Committees and Advisory Boards

Since AWL NSW's inception in 1958, we have continued to be a leader in current practice relating to animal welfare issues. AWL is an active member or participant in the following committees and groups.

  • Getting 2 Zero
  • Ag & Animal Services Emergency Management Committee (NSW Disaster Plan)
  • Animal Management in Rural and Regional Indigenous Communities (AMRRIC)
  • Animal Welfare Advisory Council (AWAC)
  • Animal Welfare League Australia (AWLA)
  • Australian Animal Welfare Strategy (AAWS)
  • Australian Companion Animals Council (ACAC)
  • National Parks and Wildlife Service - Deer Program
  • School Animals Care Ethics Committee (SACEC)
  • University of Wollongong Animal Ethics Committee


Board of Directors of AWL NSW


  • Christine Richardson (President)
  • Glyn Boobyer
  • Narelle Cocks
  • Jeanette Emanuel
  • David Hope
  • Audrey McGeown
  • Joanne Righetti
  • Shawn Skyring
  • Annette Tomlinson


Company Secretary - Maryse MacMurdo


To view the Constitution of Animal Welfare League NSW click here