Find a fur friend

Meet Opie

Meet Opie

Colour/s Black
Sex Male
Age 6 Years 4 Months
Size Large
Animal ID 62297
Microchip Number 934000090204317
Location Kemps Creek Shelter
Price $350
Health Check

AWL NSW Rehoming Organisation Number: R251000222

A Little Bit About Opie

"Hello, my name is Opie (Aka Mr Nibbles). You might be wondering why people know me as 'Mr Nibbles'... It might have something to do with the fact that I really enjoy nibbling on hands and arms! I only do it to people I love, or everyone, depending on what you want to tell yourself... My nibbling habit has won myself the prestigious title of "no small kids initially please". I don't quite understand what that means but nevertheless, I am proud to have this super amazing award under my belt (I mean collar)! Anyway, onto the important stuff, my favourite toys. Well... I'm not a fuss-pot, I love teddy's, squeaky toys and kongs filled with peanut butter (I just drooled whilst typing that). I do also like playing with my favourite people and my favourite people is practically anyone! I love pats so much that if my humans pat me so much that their arm fell off, I would get the sads because it would mean no more pats for me 🙁 Let's face it, you're probably going for looks rather than personality (I don't blame you, I'll also choose my human carefully, no pressure for you either!)... You would have noticed my amazing grey beard coming through my silky-smooth black fur. I have been growing it for 6 years of life that I have lived. And oh boy, I have lived my life to the fullest! But I digress... You know when you're starting to date someone and are reluctant to tell them about your issues initially? I'll let you in on a little secret about mine. As well as my nibbling habit, I also love people SOOOOOO MUCH that I get the sads when my people leave me alone (mostly when left outside) at home :( But I have some good news! An expert dog behaviouralist is on standby, ready to provide my new parents with all the advice they'll need to work through my quirks. With my amazingly positive outlook in life, I am sure there's someone out there who will want me and I hope this post reaches them. I also have some more good news for anyone who might be willing to adopt me. I do get along with some dogs so if you have a furry dog friend for me, we might be a good match with a slow and proper introduction :) With my labrador-like body, ridiculously friendly nature and my serial nibbling habit, I'm looking for some special people to spend time working with me through my 'issues' (I call them 'quirks' though). Thank you for reading, my bark-to-English translator is about to run out of battery so I better head off... Just kidding, I'm going to bite teddy now..." - Mr Nibbles (Opie) If you think you might be able to give Mr Nibbles the perfect home, please email with your contact number and information about your lifestyle. His adoption fee includes desexing, vaccination, microchipping and a vet check.

Want to learn more?

Complete the form below, and we’ll be in touch with additional information about the dog you’ve been looking at!

Keep me updated about Animal Welfare League NSW events via email

Adopt with us and you will receive behaviour support and advice

Learn More